Ipsy: May 2013

2013-05-026I received my first Ipsy a week ago and I was uber excited to see the cute hot pink package in the mail.  I didn’t know what to expect as I am a BirchBox subscriber.

My first thought was how great the glam bag was. I think it’s really cute and will make a great cosmetic bag or pencil case. I love the colors and the design, it’s very cute.

image(81)When I reached in there were 3 cards inside.  The above was in it and it just has some offers on it. I didn’t really came much for it but maybe they will be useful in the future.

image(82)image(85)

Zoya Nail Polish in Gie Gie: As a nail polish addict, this was the product I was most looking forward to receiving. I was silently praying to get the blue or pink one and I got it! I think most of my nail polish collection is blue so I think it’s a good thing that I got this. It’s a really soft pink and I love the Zoya brand. It doesn’t have that strong smell of nail polish.  The only problem is sometimes I think the formula is too sticky and it’s a little messy but I think it’s because I’m more used to liquidy polishes like Essie. I love all their colors and the brand anyways. Did I mention this was full-size?Amazing!

image(83)Anastasia Brow Gel: As a girl who threads her eyebrows, I find it completely transforms how my face looks.  I was thrilled to see this in my bag as I always like to keep my eyebrows tidy. I just can’t get over how this is full-size as well. I’ve used Anastasia’s Brow Pencil and I can’t wait to replace that with this gel. It seems more reliable as I could never sharpen that pencil and ended up with a wasted product.

photo(42)image(86)Mirabella Lipstick in Bellarina: Another full-size sample! I don’t think I can get over all of this full sized madness! I was ecstatic to get some lipstick because I’ve been wanting to test out some lipstick that I could wear in the summer. This is a very sheer color, so sheer it just came out as shimmer on my hand. I was a bit disappointed at the color but maybe I can layer this lipstick on top of another. It was creamy and I know it will probably be used several times.

image(87)Yaby Concealer Refill: This would be great…if it wasn’t some random little sample. This was one of the ones I didn’t like. I am willing to try it but it is so tiny, I think I will end up losing it before I use it. I do need concealer badly, but where will I put this? No idea. Not worth my ten bucks.

photo(43)Pacifica Roll-On Perfume: I don’t wear perfume so I wasn’t really excited about this one. I rolled some onto my wrists and was instantly nauseous.  It was way too strong and floral for my tastes. I will most definitely be giving this away to my cousins, who may appreciate it and use it more than me.  This was a no go for me.

For my first month, I can only say I was uber excited about 3/5 of the items and I will continue my subscription to see what the month of June brings! For all the full-size items, I may even decide if I want to keep Birchbox or not.

Do you subscribe to Ipsy?What are your thoughts and favorite items you’ve gotten from them?

 

3 thoughts on “Ipsy: May 2013

  1. This looked like a good box! I’ve never tired Ipsy, but lately with the way birchbox has been performing, I’m thinking of switching over, Have you tried birch box? If you have which do you prefer?
    XOXO
    Veronica

    • I am a subscriber to Birchbox..I’m not too crazy about what I’ve gotten so I am going to give them one more month to prove themselves, if I see no change, I will keep Ipsy and unsubscribe to BirchBox.
      You should try it!
      -Dylan

Leave a comment